Home FragranceDocumentation review

How to Read a Scent Diffuser Spec Sheet Before You Buy

Four numbers decide whether a cold-air diffuser suits your room. Here is how to read them on real product pages, and what to do when the maker leaves one out.

VVThe VibeVerify editors5 min read · 1,125 words
Published Oct 9, 2026

This article is a documentation review: it is based on the vendors' own published pages, checked on the date shown. We may earn a commission from some links; it never affects what we recommend.

How to Read a Scent Diffuser Spec Sheet Before You Buy

Scent diffuser listings lean on words like luxury and hotel-grade, and bury the four numbers that decide whether the machine suits your room: coverage, oil use, noise and refill cost. This guide walks through each one using the Hotel Collection Studio, the Aroma360 Mini Pro and the Pura Home as worked examples. Every figure below comes from the makers' own product or policy pages, checked October 2026. Where a maker does not publish a number, the guide says so, because a missing spec is useful information on its own before you spend money.

Start with coverage, then shrink it

Coverage is the headline number on nearly every cold-air diffuser listing. The Hotel Collection Studio is listed as scenting "up to 600 sq ft", checked October 2026. Aroma360's Kube portable is listed at "rooms up to 400 sq ft".

Treat "up to" as a ceiling measured under conditions the maker does not describe. No page read for this guide states ceiling height, door position or airflow behind its figure. Pura publishes no square footage; it labels its models small, medium and large rooms.

A practical reading: a 600 sq ft rating covers one closed room. An open-plan kitchen and living area with a stairwell dilutes output fast. If the rating sits close to your room size, step up a model or expect a higher setting, which burns more oil.

The Aroma360 Mini Pro is a useful warning case. As of October 2026, the maker's site publishes its MSRP and its subscription price, but the pages read for this guide do not state its coverage. If a listing omits coverage, ask the seller before buying.

Check which bottle the machine accepts

Bottle compatibility shapes your refill economics more than the diffuser price does. The Studio page states "Compatibility: 30 mL fragrance oils only". That single line locks the owner into the 30 mL tier of the maker's catalog.

It matters because price per milliliter falls sharply with bottle size. Hotel Collection's Black Velvet oil, checked October 2026, lists at $39.95 for 20 mL, $54.95 for 30 mL, $109.95 for 120 mL, $159.99 for 200 mL and $229.00 for 500 mL.

Editorial arithmetic from those prices: roughly $1.83 per mL at 30 mL versus about $0.46 per mL at 500 mL. A Studio owner cannot reach the cheaper tiers. The Aroma360 Kube is likewise listed as "Compatible with Aroma360 20 mL diffuser oils".

Pura works differently. Its Home v5 holds two sealed fragrance vials sold by Pura, and the product page does not state vial volume in milliliters. Fragrances shown alongside it range from $11.19 to $16.80, though the page does not label them as refills.

Pura Home v5 product page, captured October 9, 2026. Figures change; the live page is the source of truth.
Pura Home v5 product page, captured October 9, 2026. Figures change; the live page is the source of truth.

Translate oil use into days, not milliliters

Few makers publish consumption in mL per hour. Hotel Collection instead publishes a usage recommendation: "Recommended Use: 4-6 hours per day" for the Studio. The page does not say how many days a 30 mL bottle lasts on that schedule.

Pura is more specific. Its Home v5 page states "up to 45 days of premium scent when diffusing 2 fragrance vials for 6-8 hours per day". The larger Home Plus drops to up to 30 days under the same schedule, per its own page.

When a page gives only hours per day, you can still bound the cost. Take the bottle price, divide by the days the maker claims, and compare that daily figure across brands. If the maker claims no days at all, the spec sheet is incomplete.

A complete oil-use section on a spec sheet should state:

  • The bottle size the machine accepts, in mL
  • Recommended daily run time, in hours
  • Expected days per bottle at a named intensity setting
  • The price of that bottle size, not only the largest one
  • Whether a subscription is required for the quoted diffuser price

Look for a noise figure, and notice when it is missing

Cold-air diffusers use a small pump and a nebulizer, and both make sound. None of the product pages read for this guide, from Hotel Collection, Aroma360 or Pura, publishes a decibel rating as of October 2026. The makers do not publish this figure.

That absence is the biggest gap in home diffuser spec sheets. A bedroom unit and a lobby unit face different noise tolerances, and "whisper quiet" is a phrase, not a measurement. A dB figure with its test distance is the only version that means something.

Until makers publish dB numbers, plan around placement. A unit on a hard shelf in a small bedroom is more noticeable than the same unit on a soft surface across an open room. The return windows discussed below are, in practice, your only noise test.

Aroma360 - Mini Pro subscription terms and diffuser catalog, captured October 9, 2026. Figures change; the live page is the source of truth.
Aroma360 - Mini Pro subscription terms and diffuser catalog, captured October 9, 2026. Figures change; the live page is the source of truth.

Read the price line for subscriptions and commitments

Diffuser prices on these sites are often conditional. Aroma360's published terms state the Mini Pro "MSRP is $99.95", and that "the diffuser will cost $49.95 with a subscription for one (1) oil per month" under its promotional plan.

The same terms require a three-month commitment and set a $50.00 fee for cancellation within 30 days, which equals the discount. A $49.95 diffuser therefore carries at least three oil purchases behind it. Price the oils first, then judge the headline number.

Hotel Collection's Studio shows a regular price of $199.95 and a sale price of $79.95 as of October 2026. Pura lists the Home Mini at $34.99, the Home v5 at $49.99 and the Home Plus at $79.99, with no subscription condition on those pages.

Confirm the warranty and return terms before checkout

Warranty length is the other number these pages rarely state. Hotel Collection's refund policy, checked October 2026, says defective or damaged items "may qualify for replacement, repair, or full refund under our warranty terms" if reported within 30 days. It states no warranty period.

The same policy allows diffuser returns within 30 days of delivery only if the unit is unused and in original packaging, with a 20% restocking fee. Used diffusers are not refundable. Pura's Home Plus page advertises a 30-day risk-free trial with return shipping covered.

The practical reading: at Hotel Collection, the return window is not a trial. At Pura, it is. If a page says "warranty" without a duration, email support, ask for the period in writing, and keep the reply with your order confirmation.

This guide gives no health advice about fragrance oils. For households with children or pets, Poison Control advises that essential oil bottles be kept "locked up, out of the sight and reach of children and pets". Store refills that way.

Frequently asked questions

How many square feet does the Hotel Collection Studio cover?

The maker lists the Studio as scenting "up to 600 sq ft" as of October 2026. The page does not state ceiling height or airflow conditions behind that figure, so treat it as a ceiling for one closed room rather than an open-plan space.

How long does a 30 mL diffuser oil bottle last?

Hotel Collection does not publish days per bottle; it recommends 4 to 6 hours of use per day. Pura, by contrast, claims up to 45 days from two vials at 6 to 8 hours per day in its Home v5. Ask the maker for a days figure if the page omits it.

Is the Aroma360 Mini Pro really $49.95?

Only with a subscription. Aroma360's terms list the MSRP at $99.95 and the subscription price at $49.95 with one oil per month and a three-month commitment. Cancelling within 30 days triggers a $50.00 fee, per the same terms checked October 2026.

Bottom line

A diffuser spec sheet is complete when it states coverage with its conditions, the accepted bottle size, days per bottle, a noise figure, a warranty period and the full subscription terms. As of October 2026, none of the three makers covered here publishes all six.

Buy from the maker that answers the most of them, confirm the rest by email before checkout, and price a year of oil before you price the machine. The refill ladder, not the diffuser discount, is where the money goes.

#scent diffusers#buying guide#home fragrance